5 Love Languages

The Five Love Languages

“The Five Love Languages” is written by Dr Gary Chapman who discovered, when working with couples over many years, that people express and receive love in different ways. Very often we express our love to our spouse in a way they don’t understand, and he or she won’t even realize we’ve expressed our love at all. This leads to emotional distance between couples with their emotional need for love not being met. The book covers the five ways (or languages) that are used to express and receive love, namely, words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service and physical touch.

I found this book particularly powerful because the concept is, firstly, so obvious once it is pointed out, and, secondly, so easy to apply in a practical way in your everyday life. I have used this concept over and over and more often that not when I find things slipping in one of my relationships it is because I haven’t used the language of love that my husband, son, daughter, mother, father or friend understands. I would definitely recommend that this book takes pride of place on your bookshelf!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    No Twitter Messages.